Books read in March 2024

I think I am acclimating to the faster pace life is going. At least, things seem to be a bit easier, except when I procrastinate.

Defiance of the Fall 12 by TheFirstDefier/J.F. Brink, twelfth in the DotF series. Five stars, finished March 4, 2024.
Leisurely but also workaholic.
Zac is expectedly set on bulldozing forward on his path, and dragging friends along for the ride. I really like Catheya, even as I really didn’t like Thea. That will be an interesting meeting, although perhaps more peaceful than I worried. The little monks are kind of driving me crazy. They’re everywhere. A great book, and had me biting my nails at multiple points. Read with Kindle Unlimited.
Defiance of the Fall 12: A LitRPG Adventure https://a.co/d/eL1PDwg

A Scion’s Duty by Tom Elliott, sixth in the Grand Game series. Five stars, finished March 6, 2024.
Over too soon
This isn’t A short book, but it still ended too soon. I love how he adopts “pups” constantly. Some characters are both more and less than expected, and the guardians are different than what I thought. The whole spirit cheat for multiple attempts at lycanthropy had me laughing. A fun and thrilling read, and I’m looking forward to reading more. Read with Kindle Unlimited.
A Scion’s Duty, The Grand Game, Book 6: A Dark Fantasy LitRPG Adventure https://a.co/d/hHE5y6a

The Fire Rose by Mercedes Lackey, zero/prequel to the Elemental Masters series. Five stars, finished May 7, 2024.
A good reread
The Wiccan book club I’m in opted to read this book for February, and I enjoyed the reread. It’s amusing seeing parallels between the book philosophy and actual Wiccan philosophy. It would be cooler perhaps if we could command or ask for magic like in this book though. This was a cute Beauty and the Beast retelling. The things Du Mond, or as another group member dubbed “the Bad Guy”, got up to were honestly way too detailed. The extent of his depravity could have been mentioned without details. Checked out from my library.
The Fire Rose (Elemental Masters Book 1) https://a.co/d/0zA3cqJ

Saintess Summons Skeletons by Mornn, first in the series of the same name. Five stars, finished March 11, 2024.
Cute and fun
Sophia is amusing as a partial classer. Her split class gives her a lot of overpowered options and I love it. Pareth is sweet. I was surprised that Alitha went the way she did towards the end. The powerful not giving any information on the sneaky patron and last name had me agreeing with Sophia’s frustration. I can see this becoming a mood boosting series for me. The tidbits that are suddenly thrown out didn’t have a build up or context, and were mostly ignored, so that was my only issue with the story. Read with Kindle Unlimited.
Saintess Summons Skeletons: A Holy Necromancy LitRPG (Book 1) https://a.co/d/f0ezfBL

Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman, first in the series of the same name. Three stars, finished March 16, 2024.
I wish I had read this before seeing the movie. They’re completely different stories, with extremely different personalities. The bare bones are alike, but that’s about it. This was a nice book. It was maudlin and a bit depressing for most of it, but it does end positively. I like how everyone is so completely imperfect. We see their thoughts, internal struggles, and all from an outside viewpoint. Read because of a book club, checked out from my library.
Practical Magic https://a.co/d/8zLBDT8

Unexpected Healer by Jonathan Brooks, first in the Earthen Contenders series. Five stars, finished March 19, 2024.
Amusing book with a shocking start
The beginning of the book could mentally scar a person. The mundane yet graphic explanation of Thaden’s first hours had me picturing coyote and roadrunner cartoons. This book is hilarious in a way, and I love that a healer can do damage or cheat the system like this. I can only imagine what will happen next, especially with that ending. Read with Kindle Unlimited.
Unexpected Healer: A Fantasy LitRPG Isekai Adventure (Earthen Contenders Book 1) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CV674LHM?ref_=cm_sw_r_apann_dp_JK098PDMS2PVWXYFZ02Z&language=en-US

World Seal by David North, seventh in the Guardian of Aster Fall series. Five stars, finished March 22, 2024.
Always exciting
The divisions/avatars make this even more fun to read. Sam is able to focus on many different projects, and each avatar multiplies what he is capable of. I still love the crafting aspect. Little sis doesn’t really make much of an appearance. Read with Kindle Unlimited.
World Seal (Guardian of Aster Fall Book 7) https://a.co/d/2fw6mpT

The Wolf’s Advance by Shane Purdy, second in the Wolf of the Blood Moon series. Five stars, finished March 27, 2024.
More interpersonal depth
This book showed a deeper aspect to Scarlet, specifically her emotions and interactions with people. I am interested in what the prophecy could be, and how Scarlet might make that into an unexpected result. Her family doubled in this book, at least the ones she knows about. I look forward to being a fly on the wall when she learns more revelations. Read with Kindle Unlimited.
The Wolf’s Advance: A Blood Magic Lycanthrope LitRPG (Wolf of the Blood Moon Book 2) https://a.co/d/iFsmCKH

Mandate of Heaven by Selkie Myth, eleventh in the Beneath the Dragoneye Moons series. Five stars, finished March 30, 2024.
Beautiful, but still a disjointed ending.
The main storyline is exciting, sometimes sad, and fun to read. The relationship between Elaine and Iona is sweet. Their Fox grows up a lot, as does Auri. Those parts were a bit sad. The end of the book again had events out of order and some read like a blooper reel. Just put them in the story chronologically already, because it can be confusing and annoying. The Kirin and the Phoenixes at the end are funny. I think that will be a hilarious meeting. I read this with Kindle Unlimited. This series has gone on and off of KU, so check before you buy or check out.
Beneath the Dragoneye Moons: Mandate of Heaven https://a.co/d/2xxp6Yb

I’m sad that I’m not reading more for fun, and it is affecting my mental health. However, I’m studying and learning more in my chosen path, and that is fun and fulfilling in its own way.

Leave a comment